Mt. Batulao Dayhike

Hey there, pader! 

I was stressed these past few days and I want to go up high and distress. So I invited a couple of friends to join me in a dayhike near Manila. There were a few who said they’re joining but eventually cancelled for a number of reasons. Oh well… Initially, I planned on climbing Mt. Talamitam but ended up picking Mt. Batulao just beacuse.

I went up with a friend who had no choice but to join because I’m still climbing even solo. 

At the Evercrest. Just right after we get off the bus.
At the Evercrest. Just right after we get off the bus.

 The bus we boarded left the Coastal Mall Terminal at 730AM bound for Nasugbu, and we reached Evercrest at 930AM. It was Baguio cold and the sky was starting to get dark. I knew then that it’s not going to be a dry climb. We prepped up and took a tricycle to the jump-off and at 10AM, we’re at the trail head where we met some of the USTMC applicants, they’re a big group (30-50 I think). It was muddy all the way upto the first Kubo. Imagine how “basag” the trail was due to the number of hikers. I tried to take some photos but the trail required me to hold on to practically anything (even the butt of the guy ahead of me) just so I don’t slip or fall, so, I stopped the attempt. I don’t wanna go swimming in the mud just to get a selfie. Lol!

Just right before my shoes bonded with the welcoming Batulao mud.
Just right before my shoes bonded with the welcoming Batulao mud.
Where's the sun?
Where’s the sun?

We did a traverse taking the New to Old Trail. I though this would be an easy climb (well yeah, really, there is no easy climb) I guess this would’ve been easier(and beautifuler) if it didn’t rain.   

It started raining when we took a take 5 at Peak 7. Obviously, clearing is scarce so we managed ourselves with a white background. It drizzled when we reached the Knife’s edge. I managed to easily go up to the edge and only felt the pang when I’m already at the top. The wind got stronger, the fog thicker and I started to tremble. Maybe because I was cold already or it was just plain scary. We continued our ascent up to the summit where we contented ourselves with selfies due to lack of view. It rained just after we had our lunch. (Drenched much?) I’d say Batulao’s trail is pretty easy compared to that of Tarak. (Duh?) 

The only picture I could afford at the Knife's Edge. Nakatakot mag picture eh lol!
The only picture I could afford at the Knife’s Edge. Nakatakot mag picture eh lol!
The trail before Peak 10. (From New trail)
The trail before Peak 10. (From New trail)
Moment sa Summit! Hah!
Moment sa Summit! Hah!
View from the Old Trail. You can see Camp 6 and those pretty trees standing solo in Camp 1 and Camp 2(I think)
View from the Old Trail. You can see Camp 6 and those pretty trees standing solo in Camp 1 and Camp 2(I think)
The closest we got to a clearing.
The closest we got to a clearing.
Yes. My friend was quick enough to take a picture as I go down this steep descent.
Yes. My friend was quick enough to take a picture as I go down this steep descent.

Day hike reserved its own pros and cons versus an overnight camp. In a day hike, you don’t have to worry much about hydration, just bring your trail water and you are good. Packed lunch and 2 sets of clothing would do fine hence, a lighter pack. It’ll just take your already tired legs to another level of torture as there is no ample time for your lower bud to rest before going back to the trail, unless you are willing and ready to do a night trek. In my case, night trek is not yet on my list, with that, I made sure that we’ll make it back at the trail head before dark. Afraid of the dark much? Lol!

So there you have it! Please pardon me with my writing as I am no writer, really. :p

Mt. Batulao - Sept 14, 2013
Mt. Batulao – Sept 14, 2013
Leave a Reply

